SEARCH
Select Language

Welcome to The Science!

Despite ongoing research into rare periodic fevers, this area of medicine is complex and not fully understood – even by scientists! In this section of the website, we present some of our current understanding of the science behind the tiny DNA change(s) that lead to rare periodic fevers, and we describe some of the diseases themselves – CAPS, SJIA, FMF, TRAPS, and HIDS/MKD. Explore to find out more.

Autoinflammatory Diseases

Body invaders: How the body protects us

A healthy immune system: Your body’s defence against germs

We all know that a healthy immune system is essential to fight off invading germs that can cause illnesses or disease. This includes common viruses that cause colds or flu every winter, bacteria such as streptococcus, which can cause a very sore throat, and other germs such as those responsible for stomach flu.

The skin and mucosa (inner lining of the nose) act as frontline barriers to prevent germs from entering the body. They are coupled with our saliva, sweat and tears (the bodie's "chemical" defences), which contain substances such as enzymes that can kill germs.

If germs manage to enter the body, the immune system forms the next line of defence to prevent them from growing and multiplying. The immune defence system consists of patrolling cells and messenger substances (cytokines) that circulate in the blood, which detect and fight invading germs.

Infection: When germs invade

Find out now how some immune system defences become active even without outside invaders, causing “friendly fire” that can harm people with autoinflammatory conditions.

When germs invade the body causing an infection, two parts of the immune system work together to fight the invaders:

  • A typical infection is first fought by the built-in response to invaders (innate immune system) through the process of inflammation, which attracts cells to “eat” the invaders (think: PAC-MAN!). If this is not sufficient to destroy them, the acquired immune system assists.
  • The acquired immune system “learns” about the germ and then develops antibodies specifically targeted to that germ. The antibodies bind to and clump the germs together so they can be destroyed. The acquired system also “remembers” the germ and can produce the germ-specific antibodies very rapidly from the “immune memory” if the same germ invades the body again. We take advantage of the body’s ability to remember previous invasions by germs when we get vaccinated against diseases.

Development of a healthy immune response to germs

Development of a healthy immune response to germs

Friendly fire: Autoinflammatory diseases

What are autoinflammatory diseases?

Autoinflammatory diseases are conditions where the inflammatory response appears to occur automatically or “on its own,” instead of as a response to invading germs. This autoinflammation involves the nonspecific innate immune system and occurs periodically in some people or continuously (chronically) in others.

During an autoinflammatory response, the innate immune system is activated even though no germs are present in the body. (This means that the immune cells act as if they were fighting germs, resulting in an inflammatory response that affects the entire body.) This causes a disease flare with typical symptoms including fever, rash, joint swelling, pain, and fatigue.

Why does this happen?

There are various causes of autoinflammatory diseases:

Genetic mutations
  • Inherited from one or both parents
  • Caused by changes in a related set of genes
  • Includes the periodic fever syndromes (CAPS, FMF, TRAPS, HIDS/MKD and others)
  • Mutational analysis may be negative in over 40% of autoinflammatory disorders
Triggers
  • These disorders may be triggered by substances released into the circulation during abnormal responses to infection
Other conditions with autoinflammatory causes
  • SJIA
  • Type II diabetes, gout, pseudogout and atherosclerosis

CAPS: Cryopyrin-associated periodic syndromes, FMF: Familial Mediterranean fever, TRAPS: Tumour necrosis factor receptor associated periodic syndrome, HIDS/MKD: Hyperimmunoglobulinemia D syndrome/mevalonate kinase deficiency, SJIA: Systemic Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis

The culprit: IL-1β

Interleukin-1 beta (IL-1β) is a messenger of the nonspecific innate immune system that can play a special role in many autoinflammatory diseases, including promotion of the inflammatory response. What do we mean by messenger? These are signals to immune cells to come to the site where invaders are.

IL-1β has different effects on various parts of the body

Effects of IL-1β illustration


Effects of IL-1β

Periodic fever syndromes

Periodic fever syndromes are rare diseases; they affect a very small percentage of people in the general population – for example, fewer than 5 out of 10,000 people. They are usually hereditary and may be caused by a change to the genetic recipe (DNA) of the nonspecific innate immune system that causes the system to be switched on even without invaders to fight. Periodic fever syndromes include (but are not limited to) cryopyrin-associated periodic syndromes (CAPS), familial Mediterranean fever (FMF), tumour necrosis factor receptor associated periodic syndrome (TRAPS) and hyperimmunoglobulinemia D syndrome/mevalonate kinase deficiency (HIDS/MKD).

The symptoms involve the repeated occurrence of fever lasting more than 24 hours and are often accompanied by rashes and joint pain.  They can also involve other symptoms, and sometimes further damage may occur due to the effects of continuous (chronic) inflammation.

Diagnosis

Diagnosis of CAPS, FMF, TRAPS or HIDS/MKD can be a challenge. This is because these diseases occur only rarely and have symptoms common to many other diseases. Doctors may have to rule out many possible conditions and order laboratory or genetic tests in order to make a diagnosis.

So what are autoimmune diseases?

Autoimmune conditions involve the acquired immune system. The acquired immune system includes immune cells that following initial contact, fight only a specific type of germ. Autoimmune diseases often involve the formation of antibodies that are mistakenly directed against parts of the body. Well-known autoimmune diseases include Crohn’s disease, psoriasis, and rheumatoid arthritis.

But there is some overlap

Some diseases of the immune system cannot be strictly categorized as either autoinflammatory or autoimmune. For example, some forms of arthritis involve the innate and acquired immune systems and can be considered both autoinflammatory and autoimmune conditions.

References

1. Lachmann HJ et al. Arth Res Ther 2009;11:212.
2. Ciccarelli F, De Martinis M, Ginaldi L. Curr Med Chem 2014; 21: 261–269.
3. NIH. Understanding Autoimmune Diseases. Available at: www.niams.nih.gov/Health_info/Autoimmune/default.asp. Accessed January 15, 2017.
4. Dinarello CA. JEM 2005; 201: 1355–1359.
5. Gattorno M et al. J Clin Immunol (2008) 28 (Suppl 1):S73–S83.
6. Shinkai K et al. Clin Experimental Derm 2007;33:1–9.
7. Lachmann HJ et al. NEJM 2009;360:2416–2425.
8. McGonagle D and McDermott MF. PLoS Med 2006;3(8):1243–1248.
9. Dall L and Standford JF. Clinical Methods: The History, Physical, and Laboratory Examinations. 3rd edition. Chapter 211. Available from: www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK324/pdf/Bookshelf_NBK324.pdf. Accessed January 2017.
10. Krause K et al. Allergy 2012;67(12):1465–74.

Kids' corner

Want to help your child understand their illness? Why not visit Kids' Corner with your child and read Paula and Tim’s explanation of autoinflammatory disease and their experience of attending school and after school activities with their condition.

Learn more
Kids' Corner

NPR/ACZ885/0008E

Rechercher
Choisissez votre langue

Bienvenue à la rubrique scientifique!

Les fièvres périodiques rares constituent un sujet complexe dont la médecine n’a pas percé tous les mystères. Malgré les recherches en cours sur ces maladies, notre compréhension (et celle des scientifiques!) en demeure partielle. La présente section rend compte des connaissances scientifiques actuelles à propos des minuscules modifications que doit subir l’ADN pour entraîner des fièvres périodiques rares et dresse le portrait de certaines de ces maladies (le CAPS l’AJIS la FMFle TRAPS, et le HIDS/MKD). Consultez-la pour en apprendre davantage. 

Maladies auto-inflammatoires

Les envahisseurs et les mécanismes de protection de l’organisme

Un système immunitaire en bon état : le moyen de défense de l’organisme contre les microbes

Tout le monde sait que le système immunitaire doit être en bon état pour combattre les microbes envahissants à l’origine des maladies. Parmi ces derniers, on retrouve des virus communs comme ceux auxquels nous devons nos grippes et nos rhumes hivernaux, des bactéries comme les streptocoques, qui peuvent entraîner des maux de gorge intenses et d’autres microorganismes, dont ceux responsables de la grippe intestinale.

La peau et les muqueuses (la paroi interne du nez) constituent les premiers obstacles empêchant les microbes de pénétrer l’organisme. La salive, la sueur et les larmes (les mécanismes de défense « chimiques » du corps humain), qui contiennent des substances éliminant les germes, comme des enzymes, jouent le même rôle. Le système immunitaire constitue la seconde ligne de défense contre les microbes ayant réussi à s’introduire dans notre corps. Son travail consiste à empêcher les envahisseurs de croître et de se reproduire. Le système immunitaire se compose de cellules patrouilleuses et de substances messagères (les cytokines) qui circulant dans le sang. Ensemble, elles détectent et combattent les microbes envahissants.

Infection : une invasion microbienne

Renseignez-vous dès maintenant à propos de l’activation de certains mécanismes de défense du système immunitaire en l’absence d’envahisseurs. Cette situation entraîne des « tirs fratricides » néfastes aux personnes présentant une affection auto-inflammatoire. Lorsqu’une invasion microbienne déclenche une infection, le système immunitaire réagit en deux temps pour la combattre.

  • Premièrement, l’organisme contre la menace que pose une infection ordinaire par une réponse prédéfinie (du système immunitaire inné), le processus inflammatoire, qui attire les cellules capables de « dévorer » les intrus (comme dans le jeu PAC-MAN!) Si ce mécanisme n’enraye pas la menace, le système immunitaire acquis entre en jeu.
  • Le système immunitaire acquis « étudie » le microbe et produit par la suite des anticorps adaptés qui ciblent ce dernier. Ils se lient aux microbes et les entassent pour faciliter leur élimination. Le système immunitaire acquis grave chacun des microbes dans sa « mémoire » et peut se remettre à produire les anticorps nécessaires très rapidement si jamais un envahisseur donné pénétrait l’organisme à nouveau. En nous faisant vacciner, nous tirons profit de cette capacité de l’organisme à se « souvenir » des invasions précédentes.

Induction d’une réponse immunitaire saine aux microbes

Induction d’une réponse immunitaire saine aux microbes

Le phénomène des tirs fratricides : les maladies auto-inflammatoires

Que sont les maladies auto-inflammatoires?

Les maladies auto-inflammatoires se caractérisent par le déclenchement systématique ou autonome d’une réponse inflammatoire; elle ne résulte pas d’une invasion microbienne. L’auto-inflammation en question mobilise le système immunitaire inné non spécifique et se produit périodiquement ou de façon continue (chronique).

Une réponse auto-inflammatoire active le système immunitaire inné malgré l’absence de microbes. (Les cellules immunitaires se comportent comme si elles combattaient un intrus, ce qui entraîne une réponse inflammatoire généralisée.) La poussée de la maladie ainsi provoquée se manifeste habituellement par les symptômes suivants : fièvre, éruptions cutanées, enflure articulaire, douleurs et fatigue.

Pourquoi cette situation se produit-elle?

Plusieurs facteurs sont à l’origine des maladies auto-inflammatoires:

Mutations génétiques

  • Transmises par l’un ou des deux parents
  • Attribuables à la modification des gènes apparentés d’un ensemble
  • Provoquent entre autres les syndromes de fièvre périodique (le CAPS, la FMF, le TRAPS, le HIDS/MKD, etc.)
  • Le résultat de l’analyse mutationnelle peut s’avérer négatif dans plus de 40 % des cas de troubles auto-inflammatoires
Facteurs déclencheurs
  • Les troubles en question peuvent être le résultat de la libération de substances dans le sang lors de réponses anormales à des infections
Autres affections entraînées par des réactions auto-inflammatoires
  • AJIS
  • Diabète de type II, goutte, pseudogoutte et athérosclérose

CAPS : syndromes périodiques associés à la cryopyrine; FMF : fièvre méditerranéenne familiale; TRAPS : syndrome périodique associé au récepteur du facteur de nécrose tumorale; HIDS/MKD : syndrome d’hyperimmunoglobulinémie D/déficit en mévalonate kinase; AJIS : arthrite juvénile idiopathique systémique

Le responsable : IL-1β

L’interleukine-1 bêta (IL-1β) est un messager du système immunitaire inné non spécifique jouant parfois un rôle particulier relativement à plusieurs maladies auto-inflammatoires, notamment en favorisant la réponse inflammatoire. Par « messager », nous entendons une série de signaux envoyés aux cellules immunitaires pour qu’elles se dirigent vers la région où se trouvent les envahisseurs.

L’IL-1β produit des effets différents selon la partie du corps concernée

Effets de l’IL-1β

Effets de l’IL-1β

Syndromes de fièvre périodique

Les syndromes de fièvre périodique sont des maladies rares, ce qui signifie qu’elles touchent une faible proportion de la population seulement (c’est-à-dire moins de 5 personnes sur 10 000). Habituellement héréditaires, ils peuvent résulter d’une modification du code génétique (ADN) du système immunitaire inné non spécifique à l’origine de son activation même en l’absence d’envahisseurs. Ce groupe de maladies comprend notamment les syndromes périodiques associés à la cryopyrine (CAPS), la fièvre méditerranéenne familiale (FMF), le syndrome périodique associé au récepteur du facteur de nécrose tumorale (TRAPS) et le syndrome d’hyperimmunoglobulinémie D/déficit en mévalonate kinase (HIDS/MKD).

Leurs symptômes comprennent entre autres des épisodes de fièvre récurrents d’une durée supérieure à 24 heures et s’accompagnant souvent d’éruptions cutanées et de douleurs articulaires. De plus, l’inflammation continue (chronique) provoque parfois des lésions.

Diagnostic

Il peut s’avérer difficile de diagnostiquer les CAPS, la FMF, le TRAPS ou le HIDS/MKD, car ces maladies se manifestent rarement et présente des symptômes associés à plusieurs maladies. Pour établir un diagnostic, les médecins devront écarter plusieurs affections possibles et demander des analyses de laboratoire ou des tests génétiques.

En quoi consistent les maladies auto-immunes?

Les maladies auto-immunes mobilisent le système immunitaire acquis, qui comporte des cellules combattant un seul type de microbe après l’infection initiale. Ces affections, dont la maladie de Crohn, le psoriasis et la polyarthrite rhumatoïde sont des exemples bien connus, se caractérisent par la production d’anticorps qui s’attaquent par erreur à certaines parties du corps.

Il peut être difficile de faire la distinction

Il est parfois impossible de classer certaines maladies touchant le système immunitaire de manière exclusive dans la catégorie auto-inflammatoire ou auto-immune. Par exemple, certaines formes d’arthrite mobilisent à la fois les systèmes immunitaires inné et acquis et sont autant considérées comme étant des affections auto-inflammatoires qu’auto-immunes.

Références

1. Lachmann HJ et al. Arth Res Ther 2009;11:212.
2. Ciccarelli F, De Martinis M, Ginaldi L. Curr Med Chem 2014; 21: 261–269.
3. NIH. Understanding Autoimmune Diseases. En ligne : www.niams.nih.gov/Health_info/Autoimmune/default.asp. Consulté le 15 janvier 2017.
4. Dinarello CA. JEM 2005; 201: 1355–1359.
5. Gattorno M et al. J Clin Immunol (2008) 28 (Suppl. 1):S73–S83.
6. Shinkai K et al. Clin Experimental Derm 2007;33:1–9.
7. Lachmann HJ et al. NEJM 2009;360:2416–2425.
8. McGonagle D et McDermott MF. PLoS Med 2006;3(11):e442.
9. Dall L et Standford JF. Clinical Methods: The History, Physical, and Laboratory Examinations. 3e édition. Chapitre 211. En ligne : www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK324/pdf/Bookshelf_NBK324.pdf. Consulté en janvier 2017.
10. Krause K et al. Allergy 2012;67(12):1465–74.

Coin des enfants

Pour permettre à votre enfant de comprendre sa maladie, visitez le coin des enfants en sa présence et lisez les explications de Paula et de Tim concernant leur maladie auto-inflammatoire, la vie scolaire et les activités parascolaires.

Pour en apprendre davantage
Le coin des enfants

NPR/ACZ885/0008F